Blue Rider, 1986 Ford Ranger truck and weathervane, 2010.
Photo : Alexis Pernet.

instants d un souffle h264 1920x1080

In a breath, video, (4:45 min.), 2011.

Road of the winds, geopoetic map, digital print.
Patrick Beaulieu, Daniel Canty et FEED, 2010.

Air Mail – Georgia and Air Mail – Murmuring Pines, extracts from the collection of postcards of the wind, 2010.

VVV – a trilogy of transfrontier odysseys (details of the exhibition), Visual Arts Gallery, Laval University, Quebec, Canada, 2013.
Photos: Ivan  Binet.

Blue Rider – weathervane, 2010.
Photo : Alexis Pernet. Design of the weathervane : Feed.

Ventury a transfrontier odyssey trailing American winds

A project by Patrick Beaulieu
with Daniel Canty, Alexis Pernet and Dauphin Vincent.

In November and December 2010, Patrick Beaulieu initiated a 25-day transfrontier odyssey trailing the winds of America. Interested by the influence of the wind on humankind, nature, urbanism and geography, he pursued the aerial currents on board the blue rider, an old Ford pick-up fitted with various accessories and tools for observing the winds — a weathervane, a windsock and a pinwheel. He was accompanied in turn by three co-pilots : the landscape architect Alexis Pernet, and the writers Daniel Canty and Dauphin Vincent. Together, these windfinders completed a kind of terrestrial navigation, attempting, against all odds, to establish a correspondence between the roads of the continent and the fluidity of aerial currents.

Ventury’s starting point was Chicago — The Windy City. From there, the windfinders traced a daily path wholly dictated by the vagaries of the wind, choosing to abandon themselves to forces beyond their own in order to fully experiment their poetic potential. The phenomena observed along the road, while they bring us back to areas of scientific knowledge (meteorology, physics, geomatics) nevertheless contain an irreducible part of mystery. This transfrontier odyssey invites us to fathom, on an exploratory mode, the intuitive and metaphorical part of our understanding of the wind, this almost unearthly natural phenomenon. (Daniel Canty, venturyodyssey.patrickbeaulieu.ca).

«In an attempt to poetically define the wind, in Ventury, two main activities were repeatedly undertaken. Upon arrival in each small town, Beaulieu found the nearest book or antique shop and inquired with the clerk: “Do you have any postcards of the wind?” The sincere query – a playful action that inspired vivid response – led to an eclectic selection of poignant, nostalgic pictures; a collection aptly titled, air mail.

The second activity was less calculated but equally rigorous. In an esthetic that paralleled the assembled postcards, Patrick Beaulieu videotaped various unplanned instances of observable movement in the wind (the in a breath series). These included: Canada geese flying in V formation; fluttering curtains kept magically afloat while pushed out of the window of an apartment building; leaves dancing on the platform of a ferryboat. In each of these cases we are made aware of how perfect and transient, of how random and potentially chaotic (yet ultimately controlled) are these events in nature. The V will eventually dissolve; the curtain will eventually fall; the leaves will disperse and disappear.»
– Victoria Stanton, extract from Porous Borders, Fragile Structures and Chance Encounters: Performative Trajectories and the Importance of the Immaterial in the VVV Transfrontier Odyssey Trilogy, Inter art actuel no.118.

Since 2010, Ventury has been presented in the context of exhibitions and performances in U.S.A., France and Canada. Fragments of the project has been shown among others at the Green Lantern Gallery of Chicago, the Bryant Lake Bowl Theatre of Minneapolis (Salon Saloon – Auto Show by Works Progress), the Maison Vieille in France, the Sporobole art center in Sherbrooke (Jean-Pierre Aubé et Patrick Beaulieu – Géopolitique de l’infini curated by Véronique Leblanc), the Visual Art Gallery of Laval University in Quebec and the Art Mûr Gallery in Montreal (Still Moving/Moving Still curated by Anaïs Castro). Texts from Daniel Canty (Les États-Unis du Vent, La Peuplade, Saguenay, 2014) and Alexis Pernet (Les Chemins du vent, Criticat, Paris, 2013) give testimony of their experience on the road of the wind. Patrick Beaulieu and Daniel Canty are working on «VVV – the book»  that will gather, among others, the texts  from the windfinders of Ventury (Les Éditions du Passage, 2015).

Ventury is the second project of VVV: a trilogy of transfrontier odysseys by Patrick Beaulieu. The project have been preceded in 2007 by Monarch Vector: a transfrontier odyssey following the migratory path of the monarch butterflies and followed in 2012 by Vegas: a transfrontier odyssey on the road of chance.

Blue Rider, Camion Ford Ranger 1986 et girouette, 2010.
Photo : Alexis Pernet.

instants d un souffle h264 1920x1080

Instants d’un souffle, vidéo, (4:45 min.), 2011.

Route des vents – carte géopoétique, impression numérique
Patrick Beaulieu, Daniel Canty et FEED, 2010.

Aéropostale – Georgia et Aéropostale – Murmuring Pines, extraits de la collection de cartes postales du vent, 2010.

VVV – une trilogie d’odyssées transfrontières (détail de l’exposition), Galerie des Arts Visuels, Université Laval, Québec, Canada, 2013.
Photo : Ivan Binet.

Blue Rider – girouette, 2010.
Photo : Alexis Pernet. Design de la girouette : Feed.

Ventury une odyssée transfrontière
à la poursuite des vents d’Amérique

Un projet de Patrick Beaulieu

avec Daniel Canty, Alexis Pernet et Dauphin Vincent.

En novembre et décembre 2010, Patrick Beaulieu a initié une odyssée transfrontières de 25 jours guidé par les vents d’Amérique. Intéressé par l’influence du vent sur l’homme, la nature, l’urbanisme et la géographie, il a poursuivi ces courants aériens à bord du blue rider, un vieux pick-up Ford Ranger muni d’accessoires et d’outils d’observation des vents — girouette, drapeau météorologique et vire vent. Il était accompagné tour à tour par trois auteurs co-pilotes qui ont pris le relais durant la traversée : l’architecte paysagiste Alexis Pernet, et les écrivains Daniel Canty et Dauphin Vincent. Ensemble, «ces chercheurs de vent» ont effectué une sorte de navigation terrestre en tentant, tant bien que mal, de faire conjuguer la configuration routière du continent avec la fluidité des courants aériens.

Ventury prenait comme point de départ la ville de Chicago — The Windy City — et a permis de tracer un parcours où la destination quotidienne de l’équipée a été entièrement dictée par la volonté du vent. Les chercheurs de Ventury ont choisi de s’abandonner à des forces qui les dépassent, afin d’en éprouver le plein potentiel poétique. Les phénomènes observés sur la route, s’ils renvoient à des savoirs établis (météorologie, physique, géomatique), contiennent néanmoins une part irréductible de mystère. Cette odyssée transfrontière invite donc à sonder, sur un mode exploratoire, la part intuitive et métaphorique de notre appréhension de ce phénomène naturel presque insaisissable qu’est le vent. (Daniel Canty, venturyodyssey.patrickbeaulieu.ca).

«Le vent constitue une structure fragile qui nécessite une attention particulière. En essayant de le définir de manière poétique dans le cadre de Ventury, Beaulieu se livrait de manière répétée à deux actions principales. Lors de son arrivée dans chaque petite ville, l’artiste trouvait la librairie ou le magasin d’antiquités le plus proche et demandait systématiquement au commis : “Auriez-vous des cartes postales du vent ?” La requête sincère, une action ludique qui inspirait une réponse vive, a mené à une sélection éclectique de photos poignantes ou nostalgiques, une collection judicieusement intitulée aéropostales.

La deuxième action était moins calculée mais tout aussi rigoureuse. Dans une esthétique parallèle à l’assemblage des cartes postales, Patrick a quotidiennement filmé les moments où les signes et les mouvements du vent étaient observables. La série de vidéos qui en résulte s’intitule les Instants d’un souffle. Ces vidéos comprennent : des bernaches du Canada en formation de vol en V ; un rideau battant au vent, flottant comme par magie sur une légère brise qui le pousse hors de la fenêtre d’un immeuble à appartements ; des feuilles virevoltant sur la plateforme d’un traversier.»
– Victoria Stanton, extrait de Frontières perméables, structures fragiles et rencontres fortuites : trajectoires performatives et importance de l’immatériel dans VVV : une trilogie d’odyssées transfrontières, paru dans la revue Inter art actuel no.118. Texte intégral en version originale anglaise.

Depuis 2010, Ventury a été présenté dans le contexte d’expositions et événements aux É.U.A., en France et au Canada dont notamment à la Green Lantern Gallery de Chicago, au Bryant Lake Bowl Theater de Minneapolis (Salon Saloon – Auto Show, Works Progress), à la Maison Vieille de Roiron, au centre Sporobole art actuel de Sherbrooke (Jean-Pierre Aubé et Patrick Beaulieu – Géopolitique de l’infini, commissaire: Véronique Leblanc), à la Galerie des Arts Visuels de l’Université Laval de Québec et à la Galerie Art Mûr de Montréal (Still Moving/Moving Still, commissaire: Anaïs Castro). Des récits de Daniel Canty (Les États-Unis du Vent, La Peuplade, Saguenay, 2014) et Alexis Pernet (Les Chemins du vent, Criticat, Paris, 2013) témoignent de leur expérience sur la route des vents. Patrick Beaulieu et Daniel Canty travaillent sur «VVV – le livre» qui rassemblera notamment les travelogues des chercheurs de Ventury (Éditions du Passage, 2015).

Ventury est le second projet de la trilogie d’odyssées transfrontières VVV de Patrick Beaulieu. Le projet a été precédé en 2007 par Vecteur Monarque: une odyssée transfrontière pistant les nuées migratoires des papillons monarques et suivi en 2012 par Vegas: une odyssée transfrontières sur les chemins du hasard.