Magic Dart, Dodge Dart 1968 car and wheel of fortune, 2012.

01 vegas odyssey spin quebec

Turns of fate, video, 2:45 min, 2013.

Patrick Beaulieu, Daniel Canty and Stéphane Poirier, Wheel of fortune (details), 21 symbols inspired by the Yi King and American culture, rotating metallic device, vinyl sticker and playing cards, 2012.

VVV a trilogy of transfrontier odysseys (detail of the exhibition), Visual Arts Gallery, Laval University, Quebec, Canada, 2013.
Photos: Ivan  Binet.

Luck – the limit, digital print, 2013.

Socorro – the unfatomable, digital print, 2013.

Vegas A transfrontier odyssey
 on the road of chance

A project by Patrick Beaulieu
 with Daniel Canty.

In July 2012, Patrick Beaulieu and Daniel Canty travelled to the heart of the Nevada desert and abandoned themselves to fate. They first tried their luck under the neon lights of the Las Vegas strip, triggering a chain reaction that propelled them on a voyage entirely determined by chance encounters.

For 21 days, they rode in a 1968 Dodge Dart muscle car nicknamed the “Magic Dart”, a symbol-studded Wheel of Fortune affixed to its hood, seeking what happens at the right place and time. Conversations with various artisans of destiny—card and palm readers, astrologists, geomancers, oracles, meteorologists, physicists and statisticians—and all those who make their own luck, punctuated their odyssey.

Vegas was launched in the summer 2012 at Las Vegas, NV. During 13 days Patrick Beaulieu and Daniel Canty travelled on the road of chance that have led them to Minneapolis, MN. The next fall, they went back for a 7 lucky days journey to conclude the adventure at the town of Luck, WI.

Since 2012, Vegas has been presented in the context of exhibitions and performances in the U.S.A.and Canada. Fragments of the project has been shown among others at Bryant Lake Bowl Theater in Minneapolis (Salon Saloon Auto Show, Works Progress), SAS Gallery of Montreal, Galerie des Arts Visuels de lUniversité Laval de Québec, Dare-Dare – Cinémathèque Québécoise and at the Colloque La Recherche-Création, Territoire d’Innovation Méthodologique of the Université du Québec à Montréal.

Vegas is the last chapter of a trilogy of transfrontier odysseys. Monarch Vector (2007) tracked, by land, the physical and metaphorical signs of the migration of monarch butterflies across North America, while Ventury (2010) took as its starting point Chicago, the Windy City, to follow a route entirely determined by the will of the wind.

Patrick Beaulieu and Daniel Canty are working on «VVV the book» that will gather, among others, the texts from the windfinders of Ventury (Les Éditions du Passage, 2015).

Magic Dart, voiture Dodge Dart 1968 et roue de fortune, 2012.

01 vegas odyssey spin quebec

Tours du destin, vidéo, 2:45 min, 2013.

Patrick Beaulieu, Daniel Canty et Stéphane Poirier, Roue de fortune (détails), 21 symboles inspirés du Yi King et de l’américanité, dispositif rotatif en acier, vinyle autocollant et cartes à jouer, 2012.

VVV une trilogie dodyssées transfrontières (détail de l’exposition), Galerie des Arts Visuels, Université Laval, Québec, Canada, 2013.
Photo : Ivan Binet.

Luck – la limite, impression numérique, 2013.

Socorro – linsondable, impression numérique, 2013.

Vegas Une odyssée transfrontières 
sur les chemins du hasard

Un projet de Patrick Beaulieu 
avec Daniel Canty.

En juillet 2012, Patrick Beaulieu et Daniel Canty se sont rendus au cœur du désert du Nevada pour s’abandonner à la volonté du destin. Ils tentèrent d’abord leur chance sous la lumière des néons des boulevards de Las Vegas où ils déclenchèrent une réaction en chaîne qui les a propulsé dans un voyage entièrement déterminé par le hasard des rencontres.

À bord d’une vénérable Dodge Dart 1968, autrefois destinée aux courses à moteur musclé, et rebaptisée la «Magic Dart», une roue de la Fortune constellée de symboles fixée sur le capot, ils sont partis, 21 jours durant, à la recherche de ce qui doit arriver au bon endroit, au bon moment. Leur odyssée fut ponctuée d’échanges avec divers artisans du destin – cartomanciens, astrologues, géomanciens, oracles, météorologues, physiciens ou statisticiens – et avec tous ceux qui, comme tout un chacun, s’astreignent à inventer leur chance.

Vegas a été lancée à Las Vegas, NV en juillet 2012. Une traversée de 13 jours mena les aventuriers du hasard jusqu’à Minneapolis, MN. À l’automne de cette même année, ils reprirent les chemins du hasard 7 jours durant pour rejoindre la bourgade de Luck, WI, et conclure cette odyssée de 21 jours.

Depuis 2012, Vegas a été présenté dans le contexte dexpositions et événements aux É.U.A. et au Canada dont notamment au Bryant Lake Bowl Theater de Minneapolis (Salon Saloon Auto Show, Works Progress), à la Galerie SAS de Montréal, à la Galerie des Arts Visuels de lUniversité Laval de Québec, à Dare-Dare – Cinémathèque Québécoise et dans le cadre du Colloque La Recherche-Création, Territoire d’Innovation Méthodologique de lUniversité du Québec à Montréal.

Vegas est le dernier chapitre d’une trilogie d’odyssées transfrontières. Vecteur monarque (2007) pistait par voie terrestre les signes physiques et métaphoriques de la migration des papillons monarques à travers l’Amérique, alors que Ventury (2010) prenait comme point de départ Chicago, The Windy City, pour s’abandonner à un parcours entièrement dicté par la volonté des vents.

Patrick Beaulieu et Daniel Canty travaillent sur le livre «VVV – trois odyssées transfrontières» un atlas géopoétique rassemblant images et textes autour de ces trajectoires performatives (Éditions du Passage, 2015).